Compare
The best tools to keep personal data out of ChatGPT (2026): an honest comparison
Seven tools that stop personal data reaching ChatGPT and other AI tools, compared fairly from each vendor's own website. We make one of them, so we've included Saiela's limits too. Pick the one that fits how your firm works.
Last checked , from each product's own pages.
Side by side
| Tool | Swaps data out and puts it back | Controls which AI tools are allowed | Drafts GDPR paperwork | Pricing model | UK data region | Who it's for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saiela | Yes, in Chrome and Edge | Yes: approve, allow with no personal data, put under review or block | Yes: AI policy and vendor register on every plan; DPIA and records of processing on Team | Free for one person (25 protected prompts a month). Team £49 a month plus VAT for everyone | UK | UK small firms: accountants, solicitors, estate agents and small businesses |
| PiiBlocker | Yes, in Chrome only | Not stated (per-site rules are listed as coming soon) | Not stated | Free; Enterprise priced per seat (from $4.99 to $8.99 a seat a month, published) | Not stated. Free mode runs locally; Enterprise reporting data is stored in Oceania | Individuals, and regulated teams on Enterprise |
| ChatWall | Yes, shown in an overlay window | Not stated for the extension. The on-premise Box offers approved models | No: offers supporting material for your own DPIA | Free tier, then priced by number of devices (from €4.90 a month, published) | No UK region stated. The Box runs in your own infrastructure (EU residency) | Individuals and professionals; the Box for enterprises |
| PrivacyScrubber | Yes, with a Reveal button | Not stated (admins can push detection rules) | No: offers audit certificates to support your DPIA | Free; PRO $15 a month; Teams $99 a month flat (published) | Not stated. Processing is local; the website and licensing are hosted in the US | Solo practitioners, law firms, clinics and developers |
| Wald.ai | Yes, in its own AI workspace. Its endpoint agent allows, warns or blocks | Yes | Not stated | Workspace $19.99 a seat a month (published); endpoint DLP on request | Not stated. Its privacy policy says it isn't currently subject to UK GDPR | Enterprises and security teams; the workspace for individuals and teams |
| Harmonic Security | No restore stated: mainly monitors or blocks | Yes: approved, monitored and unsanctioned tools | No: provides its own DPIA for you to rely on | Not published (demo first) | No UK region stated. EU hosting in Ireland | Enterprise security leaders |
| Microsoft Purview | No: warns, blocks or audits | Yes, with Defender for Cloud Apps, Entra and Intune | Not stated: Compliance Manager offers regulatory assessments | Microsoft 365 licensing plus pay-as-you-go for some AI features | UK for some services through the Advanced Data Residency add-on | Organisations on Microsoft 365 enterprise plans |
Saiela's limits
- It works in the browser only, in Chrome and Edge. AI desktop apps are reported through device management such as Intune or Jamf, not protected directly.
- Free covers one person and 25 protected prompts a month. After that, warnings and blocking carry on, but details aren't swapped out until next month.
- It protects what people type into AI tools. It doesn't protect email, files or Teams the way Microsoft Purview does.
- It's built for UK firms. If you're outside the UK and EU, or you need many languages, other tools may suit you better.
Where Saiela fits best
- You want your team to keep using AI, with client details swapped out and put back so answers still make sense.
- You want to decide which AI tools and plans are allowed, and warn about or block personal accounts.
- You want the GDPR paperwork drafted for you from how your team really uses AI, not just supporting documents.
- You want your records kept in the UK, with one price for the whole team rather than per seat or per device.
How to choose
If you're one person who just wants to mask what you paste, a free extension may be enough. Check where its data goes and whether it covers the AI tools you use.
If you're a large organisation with a security team, an enterprise platform such as Harmonic or Microsoft Purview gives you wider control, at enterprise cost and effort.
If you're a small UK firm that needs your whole team protected, the AI tools under control, and the paperwork to prove it, that's what we built Saiela for. Whatever you choose, check each vendor's current terms yourself: these products change often.
Questions
What's the difference between masking and swap and restore?
Masking replaces personal details before a prompt is sent. Swap and restore also puts the real details back into the answer, so it still reads naturally. Saiela, PiiBlocker, ChatWall and PrivacyScrubber all say they restore; Wald does in its own workspace.
Which of these tools have a UK data region?
Of the products here, only Saiela uses a UK data region as standard. Microsoft offers the UK for some Purview services through its Advanced Data Residency add-on. Harmonic offers EU hosting in Ireland. The others don't state a UK region on their websites.
Is a free ChatGPT privacy extension enough for a firm?
For one person, it might be. For a firm, you usually also need to control which AI tools and accounts are allowed, see how AI is used across the team, and have the GDPR paperwork to show it. Check what any free tool does with your data.
How did you compare these tools?
We read each vendor's own website on 21 October 2026 and used only what they say. Where a site didn't mention something, we wrote "not stated". We make Saiela, so we've included its limits as well.
Sources
- PiiBlocker: home, pricing and FAQ
- PiiBlocker: privacy policy
- ChatWall: home and pricing
- ChatWall: GDPR and AI compliance
- PrivacyScrubber: pricing
- PrivacyScrubber: privacy policy
- Wald.ai: pricing
- Wald.ai: prompt security
- Wald.ai: privacy policy
- Harmonic Security: pricing
- Harmonic Security: data storage and residency
- Microsoft Learn: Purview for other AI apps
- Microsoft Learn: Purview billing models
- Microsoft Learn: Advanced Data Residency
- Saiela pricing
Last checked 21 October 2026. Products change often, so check the latest on each company's own site.
Let your team use AI. Keep the proof.
Try every Team feature free for 7 days.
